Knowledge Base & Discussion Forum

ENHANCEMENT REQUEST: Update OBM/ACB via the Client

Past technical discussions on Ahsay's Products

Moderator: Support Team

ENHANCEMENT REQUEST: Update OBM/ACB via the Client

Postby bmaiers » Tue Feb 25, 2014 11:13 pm

ENHANCEMENT REQUEST:

A couple requests to the way OBM/ACB updates are performed.....

1 - It would be nice to see a "Check for Updates Now" button in the OBM/ACB client.

2 - It would be great if the end users had the ability to control via a check box in the OBM/ACB client to allow/disallow OBM/ACB Auto Updates from the OBS.

As a Service Provider, I don't want to be the one who decides if/when my clients update. And as there a language barrier between myself and some of my clients (I only speak English), it is difficult at times to communicate to them when a client update is available.
Bob
bmaiers
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 9:25 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Postby PG » Wed Feb 26, 2014 3:40 am

I scripted my own system for this.

A separate tool that's installed with OBM as part of the post-install.bat It is a series of tools which can.

1) restart all services, clear any lock files and kill any running processes
2) .zip and send the client side logs to a specified FTP server for diagnoses
3) embed assistance for remote access support
4) update the client.


The Client Update is quite easy to achieve. along with the above toolkit I have the executables of wget.exe and wput.exe. the 'Update the client' link uses wget.exe to pull the latest version of the client from a web server, then installs it with the /VerySilent and /Everyone flags, this updates the client without any user input.
PG
 
Posts: 1023
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 5:57 am

Postby trub » Thu Feb 27, 2014 2:21 am

PG,
Would you mind sharing any of your scripts?
trub
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:08 am
Location: AZ


Return to Archived - Technical Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests