Switch to full style
Past technical discussions on Ahsay's Products
Topic locked

Server deleted but hold the backups

Thu May 30, 2013 8:44 pm

Hi,
I think this question is asked several times but want to be very very sure.
We're clearing up our three servers which all data are moved to our new servers already.
We want to hold the old backups on AhsayOBM of this three old servers with ALL retentions saved.

We have did the following:
- Stopped and removed all scheduled tasks
- Putted the retention policy to 30 jobs instead of 30 days

So i think because the backup is stopped and will not be runned, all retention and backups will be hold for unlimited time after i deinstall the Ahsay client on the servers. Correct?

Or there is a better solution to stop all backups and deinstall Ahsay on the servers but hold all old backups plus deleted files from old retention policy?

Thanks in advance.

Jelle

Fri May 31, 2013 2:20 pm

With AhsayOBM i did mean AhsayOBS.

Fri May 31, 2013 8:21 pm

--
Last edited by lej333 on Wed Jun 05, 2013 2:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Wed Jun 05, 2013 2:45 pm

nobody??

Wed Jun 12, 2013 2:47 pm

Can someone please help me out with this??

Wed Jun 12, 2013 3:34 pm

The solution is even more simple

Just disable the retention policy job on the Routine Tasks tab on the OBS server.

Wed Jun 12, 2013 3:40 pm

Thanks for your answer!
There is a problem... This three servers are not the only servers which are backed up with OBS, we have six other servers which the retention policy have to run... Is it possible to disable retention policy for just only three servers.

Wed Jun 12, 2013 4:12 pm

Last edited by lej333 on Wed Jun 05, 2013 2:46 pm; edited 1 time in total

Wed Jun 12, 2013 4:52 pm

Doing as you suggest changing retention from "Days" to "Jobs" will do it. As you are not running any backup jobs anymore there should be no loss of retention.

Wed Jun 12, 2013 7:25 pm

jade30 wrote:Last edited by lej333 on Wed Jun 05, 2013 2:46 pm; edited 1 time in total


This message was intended for mirrorstrength with his dumb (spam?) message.
Had very busy that day and did not need people who post messages which don't helps me out... :?

leemason wrote:Doing as you suggest changing retention from "Days" to "Jobs" will do it. As you are not running any backup jobs anymore there should be no loss of retention.


Thanks!
Need to know this :D.

Wed Jun 12, 2013 7:29 pm

Have already suggested on another thread that jade30 be banned. He just posts nonsense which I can only assume to be spam!

Wed Jun 12, 2013 7:33 pm

leemason wrote:Have already suggested on another thread that jade30 be banned. He just posts nonsense which I can only assume to be spam!


Ah, that explains his message.
That dumb people have too much free time, get a work! :wink:
Topic locked