Knowledge Base & Discussion Forum

Multiple Disks and Backup Data

Discuss technical questions on AhsayUBS

Moderator: Support Team

Multiple Disks and Backup Data

Postby QDOS » Fri Jun 08, 2012 10:57 pm

Hi
I have just built a VMWare machine running AHSAY UBS, it has 6 x 1.9Tb disks which have been added to the backup server.
My questions is, how will AHSAY UBS distribute the data across these disks as currently it is writing to the default and I have 6 empty disks.
Will it use the next after the 1st is full or....?

Thanks
QDOS
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 10:52 pm

Postby racassel » Sat Jun 09, 2012 3:51 am

It will use the disks the way you tell it, where you setup the paths under System Home. Read up on the "Auto user home allocation" settings. You still want to keep an eye on it from time to time.

I would recommend putting those drives in at least a 3 RAID1 arrays, so if you loose a disk, you won't have to reload from the replicator, or re-seed your clients 1.6 TB of data.

Best of luck to you with your new project!
racassel
 
Posts: 445
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 9:23 am

Postby QDOS » Tue Jun 12, 2012 6:19 pm

Thanks for the reply, your post was helpful.
This AHSAY server is running on ESX 4.1 with iSCSI, the extra disks are all VMDK's.
I have RAID'd them all together giving me 11.10TB :)
QDOS
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 10:52 pm

Postby whizkidz » Wed Jun 13, 2012 7:53 pm

Hello,

Well, while the post was helpfull.
You didn't understand the message.

If i read correct you just joined the 6 drives to 1 big drive. (RAID 0 = zero protection)
So if 1 drive fails, all data is lost beyond repair.

Atleast make it raid 5 (5 drives + 1 parity drive) = 5*1.9 = 9.5 TB
or better raid 5 + hot spare (4 drives + 1 parity + 1 Hot Spare) = 4*1.9 = 7.6 TB

READ about RAID to understand.
with regards
whizkidz
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2008 7:23 am

Postby cordsally » Thu Jun 14, 2012 6:28 pm

Good Luck!
cordsally
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 8:37 pm

Postby leemason » Fri Jun 15, 2012 1:46 am

I agree with that has been said above. Never, ever, ever use RAID0 (0=no redundancy). Use at least RAID5 (with or without hot spare) or RAID6!
BackupsAnywhere Ltd (http://www.backupsanywhere.com)
leemason
 
Posts: 670
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 4:35 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby QDOS » Fri Jun 15, 2012 7:48 pm

As I said, these are VMWare disks and not real disks, the current RAID 0 is just to max the capacity over 6 x 1.9Tb VMDK Disks.
All the Hardware RAID is done at the iSCSI SAN level using RAID5.

Thanks to all replies but I am very aware of all the different RAID levels.
QDOS
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 10:52 pm


Return to AhsayUBS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Looking for Rbackup Alternative | Vembu Alternative | Novastor Alternative | Asigra Alternative | BackupAgent Alternative? Try our product.


A wholly owned subsidiary of Ahsay Backup Software Development Company Limited  [HKEx Stock Code: 8290]