Knowledge Base & Discussion Forum

RDR 6.7.0.0 java.net.SocketException: Too many open files

Discuss technical questions on AhsayRDR

Moderator: Support Team

RDR 6.7.0.0 java.net.SocketException: Too many open files

Postby Johan » Wed Oct 12, 2011 5:43 pm

After upgrading everyting to 6.7.0.0 the rdr is acting up bad. After a few hour the log file says: java net SocketException: Too many open files, cpu/mem hits 100% (dualcore 2.8GHz) gui stops to respond and it filles the disk with catalina.2011-*-*.log (100GB).

Running on a Ubunto 10.04.3 LTS x64

I have changes file-max to 400000

Changed open files from 1024 to 32768

unlimit -a gives:


open files (-n) 32768


Never had any problem with the previous rdr-versions. (well or not this problem)



Found some old thred with a simular problem, did try to add ulimit -n 32768 to startup.sh but no differens.
Johan
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 5:29 pm

Postby Doebe » Thu Oct 13, 2011 4:59 pm

Hi Johan,

I think I know what the problem is, you are using a fake Ubuntu...
You said you're running on Ubunto!

BTW I don't think this is Ahsay related, just curious how many OBS servers are redirected by your RDR?

Please let me know if you still having this problem, we had this a couple years ago on a OBS.
It's not a bug, it's a feature!
Doebe
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 6:08 pm

Postby Johan » Thu Oct 13, 2011 5:26 pm

Hehe thats probably it :lol:

We are running 3 OBS servers. That can't really matter? The number of users must be whats matter.

Had to restart the rdr-service this morning cuz it had crashed again, now 4 hours later when i do a "sudo lsof -p <rdr-pid> | wc -l" I get 15789 open files. which is ALOT.

java (tomcat?) leaves ALL(?) connections in CLOSE_WAIT state instead of closing them. "sudo lsof -p <rdr-pid> | grep CLOSE_WAIT | wc -l" gives me 15509 open files.
Johan
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 5:29 pm

Postby Cero » Fri Oct 14, 2011 5:25 pm

Johan,

3 OBS servers doesn't mather indeed.
Are those obs servers overloaded with clients?

Sounds like the rdr doesn't close the connections like it should be.
Have you send already a email to ahsay support? If so what did they say on this mather? If not maybe you should send a email to them.

I wonder if any other rdr owners did update to 6.7.0.0 succesfully or have the same kind of problems.
"Failure is only a temporary change in direction to set you straight for your next success."
Cero
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 5:04 pm

Postby Johan » Fri Oct 14, 2011 5:44 pm

Well there is about 150 users in total. I have never had this problem before this version.
Yes I have created a supportticket and sent them info, logs and so on.

I changed max files to 100000 yesterday and then I got it to work over night atleast, after 9 hours there is 85000 open files :shock:

Yeah, I'm interested too if no one else has upgraded their rdr server...
Johan
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 5:29 pm

Postby Cero » Fri Oct 14, 2011 5:55 pm

Johan wrote:Well there is about 150 users in total. I have never had this problem before this version.
Yes I have created a supportticket and sent them info, logs and so on.

I changed max files to 100000 yesterday and then I got it to work over night atleast, after 9 hours there is 85000 open files :shock:

Yeah, I'm interested too if no one else has upgraded their rdr server...


150 users total. That really should not be the problem at al.
85k open files i wonder now how 150 users does this. Sounds almost like impossible to do.

Did AHSAY answer your email or are you still waiting on a reply?
"Failure is only a temporary change in direction to set you straight for your next success."
Cero
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 5:04 pm

Postby Doebe » Fri Oct 14, 2011 6:06 pm

should be possible to have more then 150 users on one OBS BTW, depending on how many files they have. 3 or 4 TB per OBS should not give any problem.

Just curious, why don't you downgrade your RDR and OBS servers?
Hope you didn't auto upgrade your users...
If so migrate them to a new OBS and let them connect directly to the new obs.
It's not a bug, it's a feature!
Doebe
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 6:08 pm

Postby Support3 » Wed Oct 19, 2011 11:57 am

Regarding this issue, our software development team has identified the issue, and the problem is now resolved in an AhsayRDR unofficial hotfix version 6.7.0.7.

If you would like to resolve this issue immediately, please patch your AhsayRDR application to version 6.7.0.7, available at:
http://download.ahsay.com/dev/unofficial/67/

Thanks.
User avatar
Support3
 
Posts: 6075
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 11:08 am

Postby Johan » Wed Oct 19, 2011 2:10 pm

The hotfix is installed, I'll let you know how it goes =)
Johan
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 5:29 pm

Postby Cero » Wed Oct 19, 2011 2:42 pm

Johan wrote:The hotfix is installed, I'll let you know how it goes =)



Johan i'm glad they got a hotfix for it at moment.
Let uss know how it go's. :)
"Failure is only a temporary change in direction to set you straight for your next success."
Cero
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 5:04 pm

Postby Johan » Thu Oct 20, 2011 3:49 pm

Now after ~24 hours with the hotfix installed everyting is running as it should :D
Johan
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 5:29 pm


Return to AhsayRDR

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Looking for Rbackup Alternative | Vembu Alternative | Novastor Alternative | Asigra Alternative | BackupAgent Alternative? Try our product.


A wholly owned subsidiary of Ahsay Backup Software Development Company Limited  [HKEx Stock Code: 8290]