Knowledge Base & Discussion Forum

AhsayRPS 6.11 null error

Discuss technical questions on AhsayRPS

Moderator: Support Team

AhsayRPS 6.11 null error

Postby kdewaard » Fri Dec 21, 2012 5:37 pm

Hi All,

I have attached our OBS servers (6) to a RPS (6.11) and everything worked fine until yesterday. Suddenly one of our OBS servers stopped receiving traffic from clients. We needed to reboot the machine to get it all working again. If I enable replication now it gives the following in the replication log;

2233 10:16:02 AM [End] Refreshing File
2234 10:16:02 AM Sent 509,88M byte in 336 sec (1,52M byte/sec)
2235 10:16:05 AM [Start] Replicating files in UNSYNC mode
2236 10:16:05 AM null
2237 10:16:05 AM null
2238 10:17:05 AM [Start] Replicating files in UNSYNC mode
2239 10:17:05 AM null
2240 10:17:05 AM null
2241 10:18:05 AM [Start] Replicating files in UNSYNC mode
2242 10:18:05 AM null
2243 10:18:05 AM null
2244 10:19:05 AM [Start] Replicating files in UNSYNC mode
2245 10:19:05 AM null
2246 10:19:05 AM null

The strange thing is that on our other OBS machines it still works. I have remove the data from the RPS and disabled and reenabled everything but no luck.

Anyone any idea?

Regards,

Kasper
kdewaard
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 7:47 pm

Postby Printwise » Mon Dec 24, 2012 6:40 pm

Same issue here...

But running OBS 6.11.00 and RPS 6.9.4.0 (the support told me to do so as there is a problem with replicating in general with 6.11...)

Regards,

Carsten
Printwise
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 3:16 am

Postby millhaus » Thu Dec 27, 2012 8:38 pm

Our RPS does also stop replication and generating "error" messages on the log.

Some say it helps incresing the java heap to approx. 50% of physical RAM on OBS and on RPS.

also try restarting replication
1. OBS: stop replication and wait a few secs, check the replication logs
2. RPS: stop receiver w8
3. RPS: stop RPS service and restart with new heap
4. OBS - if necessary - stop service and restart with new heap
5. OBS: start replication.

Take care, we sometimes experience OBS hang after playing too much with the replication setup. In some cases you have to restart OBS service after done changes on replication setup.
millhaus
 
Posts: 279
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 9:57 pm

Postby Printwise » Thu Dec 27, 2012 10:38 pm

We have been restarted services as you describe. And so on.

The problem are now solved...

We have seen problems with the RPS the last couple of years and spend a LOT of time fixing things - so we decided to use another replication system than Ahsay.

Now it work fine:-) And maybe 10-100 times faster (you know all the small files at 1k) Without Ahsay...

Regards,
Carsten
Printwise
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 3:16 am

Postby jedduff » Fri Nov 01, 2013 9:11 pm

Printwise wrote:We have been restarted services as you describe. And so on.

The problem are now solved...

We have seen problems with the RPS the last couple of years and spend a LOT of time fixing things - so we decided to use another replication system than Ahsay.

Now it work fine:-) And maybe 10-100 times faster (you know all the small files at 1k) Without Ahsay...

Regards,
Carsten


Hey Carsten, can you describe what are you using for the replication?

Thanks!
jedduff
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 9:18 pm

Postby CY » Fri Nov 15, 2013 9:42 am

I think the replication null problem is fixed. From the v6.15.0.0 (24-Oct-2013) release note (http://www.ahsay.com/download/customer/document/aobs-release-notes.htm), it shows

AhsayOBS - Replication
Bug fix - "Null" error message in replication when replication is interrupted in SYNC mode and restart (ref: DYT-951-68749, T-9076)
CY
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 9:51 am


Return to AhsayRPS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Looking for Rbackup Alternative | Vembu Alternative | Novastor Alternative | Asigra Alternative | BackupAgent Alternative? Try our product.


A wholly owned subsidiary of Ahsay Backup Software Development Company Limited  [HKEx Stock Code: 8290]