Knowledge Base & Discussion Forum

Using RDR with OBS that has a different hostname

Discuss technical questions on AhsayRDR

Moderator: Support Team

Using RDR with OBS that has a different hostname

Postby kdewaard » Thu Aug 02, 2012 10:17 pm

Hello everyone,

We are deciding if we are going to setup RDR for our customers and now we have a couple of questions. We are using HTTPS on our OBS servers and I need to know if I can use RDR with different OBS hostnames.

for example; our obs is on hostname1(dot)com and our obs is on hostname2(dot)com both the rdr and the obs are using HTTPS. Is this going to work or am i getting ssl errors with the certificates?

Secondly, can I use multiple hostnames with the RDR?

Regards,

Kasper
kdewaard
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 7:47 pm

Postby Support3 » Fri Aug 03, 2012 9:44 am

Yes, RDR will work with OBS with different domain name, as long as the servers each has a 'valid' SSL certificate. It doesn't matter if the cert is a wildcard cert or not.

Thanks.
User avatar
Support3
 
Posts: 6075
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 11:08 am

Postby mgaccess » Sat Aug 04, 2012 12:43 am

Support3 wrote:Yes, RDR will work with OBS with different domain name, as long as the servers each has a 'valid' SSL certificate. It doesn't matter if the cert is a wildcard cert or not..

Just FYI - OBM will still connect to RDR, but since OBS version 6, if the OBM domain/server name is different from the domain defined in the RDR server, you will received tons of errors in the logs. Tons. We had to end up changing all OBM clients to match the domain of the RDR.

A wildcard cert for sub-domains will work fine as long as the primary domain is the same.
mgaccess
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 6:23 pm

Postby Support3 » Mon Aug 06, 2012 11:42 am

mgaccess wrote:
Support3 wrote:Yes, RDR will work with OBS with different domain name, as long as the servers each has a 'valid' SSL certificate. It doesn't matter if the cert is a wildcard cert or not..

Just FYI - OBM will still connect to RDR, but since OBS version 6, if the OBM domain/server name is different from the domain defined in the RDR server, you will received tons of errors in the logs. Tons. We had to end up changing all OBM clients to match the domain of the RDR.

A wildcard cert for sub-domains will work fine as long as the primary domain is the same.

Thanks for your clarification. However, after confirming with our development team, there should not be any error message displayed on the system log. Can you please submit a Support Ticket (via https://help.ahsay.com ), with full details of your setup, and the exact error messages you were receiving for us to further look into?
User avatar
Support3
 
Posts: 6075
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 11:08 am

Postby mgaccess » Sat Aug 11, 2012 1:20 am

Support3 wrote:Thanks for your clarification. However, after confirming with our development team, there should not be any error message displayed on the system log. Can you please submit a Support Ticket (via https://help.ahsay.com ), with full details of your setup, and the exact error messages you were receiving for us to further look into?

Hi Support, I dealt with this issue months ago. See ticket ID SIX-754471 and also this thread. viewtopic.php?t=7454
mgaccess
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 6:23 pm

Postby Support3 » Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:24 am

For your information, after further clarification:

- For AhsayOBS version 6.9.0.0, you do need to have a wildcard certificate installed, with the AhsayOBM's backup server hostname matching domain of the AhsayRDR.
- For AhsayOBS version 6.9.2.0 or above, any type of 'valid' SSL certificate would be sufficient.

Thanks.
User avatar
Support3
 
Posts: 6075
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 11:08 am


Return to AhsayRDR

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

Looking for Rbackup Alternative | Vembu Alternative | Novastor Alternative | Asigra Alternative | BackupAgent Alternative? Try our product.


A wholly owned subsidiary of Ahsay Backup Software Development Company Limited  [HKEx Stock Code: 8290]