Knowledge Base & Discussion Forum

[Feature][OBM][5.2]"Run on this computer" options

Past technical discussions on Ahsay's Products

Moderator: Support Team

[Feature][OBM][5.2]"Run on this computer" options

Postby Nelsonn » Sat Sep 30, 2006 10:37 am

Platform : All
OS Version : All
Product : OBM
Product Version :
Descriptions : "Run on this computer" is unchecked by default
Reasons : need to unchecked it when login using other computers
Workaround : N/A
Related Topics : N/A
Keywords : N/A
Last edited by Nelsonn on Tue Oct 03, 2006 12:50 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Ahsay Online Backup
Nelsonn
 
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2006 12:12 pm

Postby peakbackup5 » Sat Sep 30, 2006 11:40 am

If this addresses the need to go back to all other computers with the same login name and "uncheck" after a new backup, I like the idea.

The way you currently create new backup sets with the wizard does not prompt you for "run on this computer" or not. Adding an additional step of requiring an end-user to highlight the backup set, then check "run on this computer" will introduce too much complexity.
Jim Robinson

http://www.PeakBackup.com
Ahsay Gold Partner
719-433-4230
peakbackup5
 
Posts: 509
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2006 6:04 am
Location: Colorado

Postby rootjmo » Sat Sep 30, 2006 3:55 pm

Hmmm, isn't this a change that is scheduled in 5.2 ?
rootjmo
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 6:23 am

Postby Peters » Sat Sep 30, 2006 10:57 pm

Definitely this change is required. At the moment the way things are set it is a VERY dangerous thing.
Peters
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 6:22 pm
Location: UK

Postby kentschu » Mon Oct 02, 2006 3:04 am

Yes, we agree this is should be a HIGH priority fix/change. This is one of the two main fix/changes that we hope to see implemented ASAP. (The other is related to updating permissions wasting storage space.)
kentschu
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: CA

Postby leemason » Mon Oct 02, 2006 4:27 pm

Very useful indeed. It is really confusing for some people to realise that when they schedule a backup is will run on all systems running the scheduler with the same account.
BackupsAnywhere Ltd (http://www.backupsanywhere.com)
leemason
 
Posts: 670
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 4:35 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby Nelsonn » Tue Oct 03, 2006 12:49 pm

rootjmo wrote:Hmmm, isn't this a change that is scheduled in 5.2 ?


Yep, this feature is available in 5.2.
Ahsay Online Backup
Nelsonn
 
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2006 12:12 pm

Postby Labsy » Wed Jan 30, 2008 12:13 am

By my oppinion, option should not be "Run on this computer" but "LOCK this schedule to run only on this computer".
And by enabling the option, all settings for the particular job would be disabled for any other computer.
-*- All computers wait at the same speed. -*-
Labsy
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 6:24 am

Postby Nelsonn » Wed Jan 30, 2008 4:05 pm

Labsy wrote:By my oppinion, option should not be "Run on this computer" but "LOCK this schedule to run only on this computer".
And by enabling the option, all settings for the particular job would be disabled for any other computer.


Hi Labsy,

This option is now called "Run scheduled backup on this computer", instead of locking the settings I think it might be better to pop up an error message when user is trying to edit on other computers. Since some users/admin may use one OBM to edit all other backupsets which are run on different computers.

Thanks
Ahsay Online Backup
Nelsonn
 
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2006 12:12 pm

Postby Labsy » Thu Oct 23, 2008 12:27 am

Nelsonn wrote:
Labsy wrote:By my oppinion, option should not be "Run on this computer" but "LOCK this schedule to run only on this computer".
And by enabling the option, all settings for the particular job would be disabled for any other computer.

...I think it might be better to pop up an error message when user is trying to edit on other computers...

Any news on this feature to be added in further versions?
-*- All computers wait at the same speed. -*-
Labsy
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 6:24 am

Postby Nelsonn » Mon Oct 27, 2008 4:55 pm

Labsy wrote:
Nelsonn wrote:
Labsy wrote:By my oppinion, option should not be "Run on this computer" but "LOCK this schedule to run only on this computer".
And by enabling the option, all settings for the particular job would be disabled for any other computer.

...I think it might be better to pop up an error message when user is trying to edit on other computers...

Any news on this feature to be added in further versions?


Hi Labsy,

Unfortunately, we still haven't got a date for your request. If there is any updates related to your request, I will post it in here asap.

Cheers,
Ahsay Online Backup
Nelsonn
 
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2006 12:12 pm


Return to Archived - Technical Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Looking for Rbackup Alternative | Vembu Alternative | Novastor Alternative | Asigra Alternative | BackupAgent Alternative? Try our product.


A wholly owned subsidiary of Ahsay Backup Software Development Company Limited  [HKEx Stock Code: 8290]