Knowledge Base & Discussion Forum

I get the "Failed to create new storage." when Add new storage to AhsayUBS on VMware [SOLVED]

Discuss technical questions on AhsayUBS

Moderator: Support Team

I get the "Failed to create new storage." when Add new storage to AhsayUBS on VMware [SOLVED]

Postby cristiancsiki » Mon Nov 23, 2015 5:58 pm

Hello,

I'm trying to add new storage to UBS 2.27. In 2.21, I was doing like this:
* Add new storage in VMware
* Login to UBS and click add button from Storage panel; Confirm it.
* Login to OBS and add new path in Manage Server.

Now, I can add new disk in vmware, I can see it in UBS-Storage, but when I should receive the confirmation after the warning that will destroy the data, I get the "Failed to create new storage."

Are there any other ways to import a new disk?

Thank you.

Kind regards.

Cristian Csiki
cristiancsiki
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 4:58 pm

Re: Add new storage

Postby Support2 » Mon Nov 23, 2015 6:54 pm

Hello Cristian,

The steps to described is the correct way to add additional storage to your AhsayUBS server on a VMware host.

-How large was the disk you wanted to add to your AhsayUBS server?
-You using a Thick Provisioned or Thin Provisioned Disk?
-Is the new disk on the same datastore as the existing disks used by AhsayUBS?

To find out the cause of the "Failed to create new storage." error message. You can either take a look in the system logs in your AhsayUBS web admin console under Information > System Logs at the time the error occurred.

Also, you can type dmesg in command line to see if there are any errors shown.
User avatar
Support2
 
Posts: 390
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 5:53 pm

Re: I get the "Failed to create new storage." when Add new storage to AhsayUBS on VMware

Postby cristiancsiki » Mon Nov 23, 2015 7:07 pm

Hello,

This is from the logs:

acpi_throttle2: <ACPI CPU Throttling> on cpu2
acpi_throttle2: failed to attach P_CNT
device_attach: acpi_throttle2 attach returned 6
acpi_throttle3: <ACPI CPU Throttling> on cpu3
acpi_throttle3: failed to attach P_CNT
device_attach: acpi_throttle3 attach returned 6
Timecounters tick every 1.000 msec
md0: Preloaded image </boot/mfsroot> 134217728 bytes at 0xffffffff80fc0078
GEOM_RAID5: registered shutdown event handler.
acd0: DVDR <VMware Virtual IDE CDROM Drive/00000001> at ata1-master UDMA33
da0 at mpt0 bus 0 scbus0 target 0 lun 0
da0: <VMware Virtual disk 1.0> Fixed Direct Access SCSI-2 device
da0: 320.000MB/s transfers (160.000MHz, offset 127, 16bit)
da0: Command Queueing enabled
da0: 102400MB (209715200 512 byte sectors: 255H 63S/T 13054C)
da1 at mpt0 bus 0 scbus0 target 1 lun 0
da1: <VMware Virtual disk 1.0> Fixed Direct Access SCSI-2 device
da1: 320.000MB/s transfers (160.000MHz, offset 127, 16bit)
da1: Command Queueing enabled
da1: 1992294MB (4080218930 512 byte sectors: 255H 63S/T 253981C)
SMP: AP CPU #1 Launched!
SMP: AP CPU #3 Launched!
SMP: AP CPU #2 Launched!
GEOM_MIRROR: Device mirror/6E922612xesgpbt launched (1/1).
GEOM_MIRROR: Device mirror/6E922612xesosfw launched (1/1).
GEOM_MIRROR: Device mirror/6E922612xesfmfw launched (1/1).
Trying to mount root from ufs:/dev/md0
ZFS filesystem version 5
ZFS storage pool version 28
iscsi: version 2.2.4.2
VMware memory control driver initialized
WARNING: attempt to domain_add(netgraph) after domainfinalize()
mpt0: Rescan Port: 0
da2 at mpt0 bus 0 scbus0 target 2 lun 0
da2: <VMware Virtual disk 1.0> Fixed Direct Access SCSI-2 device
da2: 320.000MB/s transfers (160.000MHz, offset 127, 16bit)
da2: Command Queueing enabled
da2: 1992294MB (4080218930 512 byte sectors: 255H 63S/T 253981C)
mpt0: Rescan Port: 0
da3 at mpt0 bus 0 scbus0 target 3 lun 0
da3: <VMware Virtual disk 1.0> Fixed Direct Access SCSI-2 device
da3: 320.000MB/s transfers (160.000MHz, offset 127, 16bit)
da3: Command Queueing enabled
da3: 1992294MB (4080218930 512 byte sectors: 255H 63S/T 253981C)
mpt0: Rescan Port: 0
da4 at mpt0 bus 0 scbus0 target 4 lun 0
da4: <VMware Virtual disk 1.0> Fixed Direct Access SCSI-2 device
da4: 320.000MB/s transfers (160.000MHz, offset 127, 16bit)
da4: Command Queueing enabled
da4: 1992294MB (4080218930 512 byte sectors: 255H 63S/T 253981C)
mpt0: Rescan Port: 0
da5 at mpt0 bus 0 scbus0 target 5 lun 0
da5: <VMware Virtual disk 1.0> Fixed Direct Access SCSI-2 device
da5: 320.000MB/s transfers (160.000MHz, offset 127, 16bit)
da5: Command Queueing enabled
da5: 1992294MB (4080218930 512 byte sectors: 255H 63S/T 253981C)
mpt0: Rescan Port: 0
da6 at mpt0 bus 0 scbus0 target 6 lun 0
da6: <VMware Virtual disk 1.0> Fixed Direct Access SCSI-2 device
da6: 320.000MB/s transfers (160.000MHz, offset 127, 16bit)
da6: Command Queueing enabled
da6: 1992294MB (4080218930 512 byte sectors: 255H 63S/T 253981C)
mpt0: Rescan Port: 0
da7 at mpt0 bus 0 scbus0 target 8 lun 0
da7: <VMware Virtual disk 1.0> Fixed Direct Access SCSI-2 device
da7: 320.000MB/s transfers (160.000MHz, offset 127, 16bit)
da7: Command Queueing enabled
da7: 1992294MB (4080218930 512 byte sectors: 255H 63S/T 253981C)


I'm trying to add a 1.9TB disk as other 6 that I currently have. The OS (UBS) is installed in a 100GB disk. The disk that I'm trying to add is Thicked lazy zeroed and is not in the same datastore, but the VM can access that datastore, since is local. The other disks are on SANs.

Thank you.

Kind regards.

Cristian
cristiancsiki
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 4:58 pm

Re: I get the "Failed to create new storage." when Add new storage to AhsayUBS on VMware

Postby cristiancsiki » Mon Nov 23, 2015 10:42 pm

VMware Esxi 5.5
cristiancsiki
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 4:58 pm

Re: I get the "Failed to create new storage." when Add new storage to AhsayUBS on VMware

Postby Support2 » Tue Nov 24, 2015 9:54 am

Hello Cristian,

-Is the datastore using VMFS 5 or VMFS 3 file system?
-Have you tried provisioning a smaller disk size, i.e. 500GB or 1TB? To rule out any limitations on VMware
User avatar
Support2
 
Posts: 390
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 5:53 pm

Re: I get the "Failed to create new storage." when Add new storage to AhsayUBS on VMware

Postby cristiancsiki » Tue Nov 24, 2015 5:49 pm

Hello,

The disk I was trying to import was 1.9 TB. The datastore where I have created this is VMFS 5. I also tried to import a smaller disk, 500GB. Here is the error I get:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/02yc4ll9bfixo ... d.png?dl=0

Please let me know if you find anything.

Thank you,

Kind regards.

Cristian.
cristiancsiki
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 4:58 pm

Re: I get the "Failed to create new storage." when Add new storage to AhsayUBS on VMware

Postby cristiancsiki » Fri Dec 04, 2015 6:01 pm

Just to update this:

The problem is caused by "migrate-storage-single-disk.sh"

New install of UBS 2.21.2 and 2.27 on ESXi 5.5 u2 and u3
I can add new disks without any problem before I run the migration script.

The migration script not only that will ruin the possibility to add new storage, but will import it and not display it in STORAGE section.

I can confirm this bug in UBS 2.21.2 and 2.27 so far, but I guess is in other versions too.
cristiancsiki
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 4:58 pm

Re: I get the "Failed to create new storage." when Add new storage to AhsayUBS on VMware

Postby cristiancsiki » Wed Dec 16, 2015 1:50 am

Updating manually the config file for the zfs pools fixed the problem
cristiancsiki
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 4:58 pm


Return to AhsayUBS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Looking for Rbackup Alternative | Vembu Alternative | Novastor Alternative | Asigra Alternative | BackupAgent Alternative? Try our product.


A wholly owned subsidiary of Ahsay Backup Software Development Company Limited  [HKEx Stock Code: 8290]