Existing partner, login to
Partner Portal

Discussion Forum

Running AhsayOBS & AhsayRPS on NAS devices

Discuss any other technical questions here

Moderator: Support Team

Running AhsayOBS & AhsayRPS on NAS devices

Postby Scherring » Tue Oct 16, 2007 6:25 pm

[html]
<h3>Running AhsayOBS &amp; AhsayRPS on NAS Devices</h3>
<p style="color: rgb(255, 0, 0); font-weight: bold;">This
document was last updated on 6-Oct-2008.</p>
<h4>Introduction:</h4>
<p>We have been asked by our customers many times whether
AhsayOBS will run
on lower cost NAS devices or not. With the growth in storage capacity
of today's NAS devices, it is obvious that NAS devices are ideal
platforms to run AhsayOBS because they possess the
storage&nbsp;capacity required by AhsayOBS but cost only one
fraction of the cost of a standard server. This is why we have
conducted some studies on the
feasibility to run AhsayOBS on various NAS devices&nbsp;recently.
We&nbsp;managed to find a couple of ways to running AhsayOBS on
various NAS devices. However,&nbsp;the performance of AhsayOBS
running of
these NAS devices varies. After many testings and investigations, we
can
conclude that the bottleneck of running AhsayOBS on NAS devices is the
memory available.&nbsp;Most small NAS devices (e.g. 1 - 2 bays NAS
devices) contain no more than 128MB and AhsayOBS requires at least
256MB (512MB recommended) to run smoothly. Therefore, we rule out all
NAS devices that cannot have their memory easily upgraded by users.
This
leaves us only a handful of NAS devices suitable for AhsayOBS and out
of all these NAS devices. Recently we have tested and successfully
installed AhsayOBS on the devices of <span style="font-weight: bold;">Thecus
N3200</span>,<span style="font-weight: bold;">
N4100+</span>,&nbsp;<span style="font-weight: bold;">N4100Pro</span>, <span style="font-weight: bold;">1U4500 and N5200</span> .<p>The instructions
of <a target="_blank" href="http://pedia.ahsay.com/openArticle.aspx?aid=1950">how
to install AhsayOBS and AhsayRPS to supported NAS devices</a> are
now available online.
</p>
[/html]

Change History wrote:6-Oct-2008
1. Added support of Thecus N3200, N4100Pro and 1U4500.

5-May-2008
1. A new NAS client utility which contains all AhsayOBM and AhsayACB installers is now released. All instructions have been updated.

17-Apr-2008
1. A warning about installation has been added on this post.

26-Mar-2008
1. The documents for "Running AhsayOBS & Ahsay RPS on Thecus N5200" and "Running AhsayOBS & Ahsay RPS on Thecus N4100+" are updated.
2. Ahsay NAS device installation wizard has replaced the installation module files (.mod files).

07-Mar-2008
1. The documents for "Running AhsayOBSR on Thecus N5200" and "Running AhsayOBSR on Thecus N4100+" are updated.
2. Installation module files (.mod files) for Thecus N5200 and Thecus N4100+ are updated.

22-Feb-2008
1. The document for "Running AhsayOBSR on Thecus N5200" is updated.

23-Mar-2009
1. Remove support of Buffalo Linkstation Pro.

30-Oct-2009
1. Unmark it as sticky post because NAS has become our standard feature

Last edited by Scherring on Fri Oct 30, 2009 12:08 pm, edited 14 times in total.
Scherring
 
Posts: 463
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 5:04 pm

OBM module on N5200

Postby romanaldp » Thu Nov 01, 2007 8:50 am

When I tried installing the module I got the following error message:

Warning! Your URL is not define, please check it!

What firmware revision are you running? Is there anything I need to change to run it on 2.00.03 ?

Thanks for your help.
romanaldp
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 8:44 am

Postby Scherring » Thu Nov 01, 2007 12:40 pm

We are using firmware v2.00.01 ( http://www.thecus.com/downloadx.php?cid=11&pid=8 ) and we don't have this problem. Could you upgrade your firmware to this release and try it again ?
Scherring
 
Posts: 463
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 5:04 pm

Running AhsayOBS on NAS devices

Postby romanaldp » Thu Nov 01, 2007 12:58 pm

Actually, this is the newest version (beta)

http://www.thecus.com/Downloads/beta/


I found it to be the most stable so far. I had a lot of problems with 2.00.01 that originally came with this system.

Here is my existing setup:
N5200PRO
Firmware Version 2.00.03

I tried downgrading to your (previous) version but it is not possible.
Do you have any other suggestions?
romanaldp
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 8:44 am

Postby Scherring » Thu Nov 01, 2007 3:02 pm

Looks like this is related to a bug in firmware v2.00.03 ( http://thecususergroup.proboards106.com ... 1190223021 ) . You can either downgrade or wait for a fix to this in later firmware releases.
Scherring
 
Posts: 463
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 5:04 pm

Postby Scherring » Thu Nov 01, 2007 5:05 pm

Or you can try this if you can on firmware v2.00.03 (Updated: 18-12-2007):

1. Build OBS-N5200.mod (as above)
2. Download http://download.ahsay.com/thecus/nas-th ... all-obs.sh
3. Upload [OBS-N5200.mod] and [nas-thecus-n5200-manual-install-obs.sh] to /raid/data/tmp, i.e. [/raid/data/tmp/OBS-N5200.mod] and [/raid/data/tmp/nas-thecus-n5200-manual-install-obs.sh]
4. cd /raid/data/tmp
5. sh nas-thecus-n5200-manual-install-obs.sh
Scherring
 
Posts: 463
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 5:04 pm

Postby BrianG » Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:27 am

hi guys,

this may suit a customer of ours but I just want to confirm that it is a supported configuration.

brian
BrianG
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: Ireland

Postby Scherring » Sat Dec 01, 2007 10:47 am

Yes, we do support this configuration, but only on software, not on hardware. We have been running AhsayOBS and AhsayRPS with this configuration for months now and have never had a problem. However, since the setup installation of this configuration is a lot more complex than the normal setup procedure, please play with this for a while yourself before rolling this out to your customers.

Right now, we are testing this configuration with Thecus N4100+ as well. We will post more information in this post when we have more information.
Scherring Chong
Founder & Vice Chairman
Ahsay Backup
Scherring
 
Posts: 463
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 5:04 pm

Capacity of N5200 as a main OBS

Postby bbullen » Tue Jan 08, 2008 12:25 pm

I'm curious if you could use this as a "main" obs server? how many subscriber connections will it support? I'm talking about the N5200 with the 512MB upgrade that you speak of.

Thanks.
bbullen
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 12:23 pm

Postby leemason » Sat Feb 09, 2008 5:44 pm

Will this work with the 1U4500 (http://www.thecus.com/products_over.php?cid=12&pid=26)?

Lee
BackupsAnywhere Ltd (http://www.backupsanywhere.com)
leemason
 
Posts: 630
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 4:35 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby Scherring » Sun Feb 10, 2008 12:09 pm

Regarding bbullen's question on the max. number of users supported, I am sorry that we have still not finished our stress test yet and we don't know the exact answer. We have successfully tested AhsayOBS running on N5200 with 100 concurrent backup connections and everything seems to be running OK. But the CPU utilization of N5200 is very high when there are many backup running. We are fine-tuning both AhsayOBS/AhsayOBM to make this solution more scalable but it will take some time to complete it and get it fully tested. At this moment, as long as you don't expect to running more than 100 concurrent backups simultaneously, everything should be fine. This is why we are only recommending users to run AhsayOBS Business Edition, but not AhsayOBS Service provider edition, on NAS devices.

(6-Oct-2008) Thecus 1U4500 is now supported because starting from firmware 2.0.10, module management was added.

[html]<strike>Due to the limitation of Thecus 1U4500 firmware(no module management and ssh support), AhsayOBSR and AhsayOBM are not able to install on Thecus 1U4500.</strike>[/html]

[html]<strike>AhsayOBS should run on Thecus 1U4500 with no problems. From the information we have here, 1U4500 is exactly the same as N5200 except that it is rack mountable. We haven't tested it inhouse but if you happen to run into any problem using AhsayOBS on 1U4500, please let us know, we will try out best to help you out.</strike>[/html]
Last edited by Scherring on Mon Oct 06, 2008 10:01 am, edited 2 times in total.
Scherring Chong
Founder & Vice Chairman
Ahsay Backup
Scherring
 
Posts: 463
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 5:04 pm

Postby leemason » Sun Feb 10, 2008 4:24 pm

Thanks very much. When I next have such a requirement I will certainly try this box out.

Lee
BackupsAnywhere Ltd (http://www.backupsanywhere.com)
leemason
 
Posts: 630
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 4:35 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby tbovingdon » Tue Feb 19, 2008 7:58 pm

RPS Server
I installed the new OBRS server and cannot figure out how to setup as receiving Replication server. what am i missing? can this server not be a receiving RPS?

I couldn't get the old RPS server to work on the thecus n5200 either i would browse to port 9080 and nothing was there....
tbovingdon
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 7:56 pm

Postby Scherring » Wed Feb 20, 2008 9:53 am

Could you submit a support ticket to https://kb.ahsay.com/index.php?_m=tickets&_a=submit and send us the information to access the NAS device there ?
Scherring Chong
Founder & Vice Chairman
Ahsay Backup
Scherring
 
Posts: 463
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 5:04 pm

Postby Scherring » Wed Feb 20, 2008 7:14 pm

To access AhsayOBS, just point your browser to http://%NAS-IP-ADDRESS%/

To access AhsayRPS, just point your browser to http://%NAS-IP-ADDRESS%/ars/jsp/system/index.jsp
Scherring Chong
Founder & Vice Chairman
Ahsay Backup
Scherring
 
Posts: 463
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 5:04 pm

Next

Return to Other Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

Looking for Rbackup Alternative | Vembu Alternative | Novastor Alternative | Asigra Alternative | BackupAgent Alternative? Try our product.


A wholly owned subsidiary of Ahsay Backup Software Development Company Limited  [HKEx Stock Code: 8290]