Knowledge Base & Discussion Forum

Backup Running Extremely Long & Can't Access Admin Page

Past technical discussions on Ahsay's Products

Moderator: Support Team

Backup Running Extremely Long & Can't Access Admin Page

Postby kyle » Mon Mar 23, 2009 9:22 pm

Hi,

We have one backup that is running a lot longer than any other backup of the same size. We are pretty sure that this backup job is causing our admin web page to not load and all of the other customers backups are missing the scheduled times. We are in a real sticky situation here and could use all of the help we can get!
The response from support was of no help, yet, so hopefully we can arrive at a solution on here. Support says:
it might suggest that the estimate time to backup the rest of data will be shorter after uploaded a number of files and also, it should be faster with the transfer rate increased. Depending on system resources availability and file type during backup process, the backup estimate time should be varied due to the calculation is not proportionally to the size of backup data.

Although I have not sent them an e-mail stating that the admin page is not loading and that the other customers backups are not running.

Thank you,
Kyle
kyle
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 6:12 am

Postby dancerdog3 » Mon Mar 23, 2009 9:40 pm

Could you provide details about the hardware and software versions of the OBS and OBM as well as OS and internet access type?
dancerdog3
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 11:41 am
Location: USA

Postby kyle » Mon Mar 23, 2009 9:50 pm

Ahsay Server:
Virtual Server 2003 Sp2
Xeon 3GHz
1 GB Ram

Server running Virtual Server:
Server 2003 Sp2
Xeon 3GHz
8 GB Ram

T1 Internet Speed

Thanks,
Kyle
kyle
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 6:12 am

Postby Support3 » Tue Mar 24, 2009 4:48 pm

Can you verify under the catalina.out file on the affected VM to see if there is any error messages found?

Although I have not sent them an e-mail stating that the admin page is not loading and that the other customers backups are not running.

In order for us to further assist you in the ticket submitted, you need to give us all the available information, as we do not know that the backup of one user is causing problem with the AhsayOBS management console, and the backup of other users. Please contact our Support Engineer again with all the available information, and we shall further assist you in the ticket submitted.

Thanks.
User avatar
Support3
 
Posts: 6075
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 11:08 am

Postby kyle » Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:09 pm

catalina.out file:

Exception in thread "[Thread][BackupSetFileSystem][D:\BUDATA\Users\midatlantic\files\1233169467984]" java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space
at java.util.HashMap.<init>(HashMap.java:209)
at java.util.HashSet.<init>(HashSet.java:86)
at com.ahsay.obs.gq.Uhd(Unknown Source)
at com.ahsay.obs.si.doAction(Unknown Source)
at com.ahsay.afc.util.PeriodicAction.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:619)
Exception in thread "[Thread][DBS][SystemLog]" java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space
at java.nio.HeapByteBuffer.<init>(HeapByteBuffer.java:39)
at java.nio.ByteBuffer.allocate(ByteBuffer.java:312)
at sun.nio.cs.StreamEncoder.<init>(StreamEncoder.java:176)
at sun.nio.cs.StreamEncoder.<init>(StreamEncoder.java:156)
at sun.nio.cs.StreamEncoder.forOutputStreamWriter(StreamEncoder.java:40)
at java.io.OutputStreamWriter.<init>(OutputStreamWriter.java:83)
at com.ahsay.obs.xf.FT(Unknown Source)
at com.ahsay.obs.zf.RT(Unknown Source)
at com.ahsay.obs.zf.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:619)
Exception in thread "[Thread][DBS][User][UserCacheMgr] " java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space
Exception in thread "[Thread][BackupSetFileSystem][\\nixon\bu1data\gcgfinancial\files\1236633490126]" java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space
Exception in thread "[Thread][Job][RebuildUserStorage]" java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space
at java.io.Win32FileSystem.resolve(Win32FileSystem.java:236)
at java.io.File.<init>(File.java:207)
at java.io.File.listFiles(File.java:1056)
at com.ahsay.obs.eo.Afd(Unknown Source)
at com.ahsay.obs.xl.LF(Unknown Source)
at com.ahsay.obs.xl.IF(Unknown Source)
at com.ahsay.obs.xl.IF(Unknown Source)
at com.ahsay.obs.xl.IF(Unknown Source)
at com.ahsay.obs.xl.IF(Unknown Source)
at com.ahsay.obs.xl.IF(Unknown Source)
at com.ahsay.obs.xl.VF(Unknown Source)
at com.ahsay.obs.yi.ZV(Unknown Source)
at com.ahsay.obs.dj.MY(Unknown Source)
at com.ahsay.obs.dj.KY(Unknown Source)
at com.ahsay.obs.dj.NU(Unknown Source)
at com.ahsay.obs.sg.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:619)
Exception in thread "[Thread][DBS][RestoreJobSummaryLog]" java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space
Exception in thread "ContainerBackgroundProcessor[StandardEngine[Standalone]]" java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space
Exception in thread "[Thread][Job][BackupJobReport]" java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space
kyle
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 6:12 am

Postby Support3 » Wed Mar 25, 2009 12:03 pm

Exception in thread "[Thread][BackupSetFileSystem][D:\BUDATA\Users\midatlantic\files\1233169467984]" java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space

It looks like the AhsayOBS server may have ran out of memory. Can you please increase the memory allocated for AhsayOBS? The instructions can be found within the following Ahsaypedia article: http://pedia.ahsay.com/openArticle.aspx?aid=1766

Notes:
You need to login with your Ahsaypedia account to access content of the article (e.g. http://pedia.ahsay.com/pf/12/webfiles/s ... login2.png )

Thanks.
User avatar
Support3
 
Posts: 6075
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 11:08 am

Postby julian46 » Wed Mar 25, 2009 8:26 pm

I had a similar problem.
My OBS server is non virtualized and has over 3GB ram.

As per the tid that support referenced - I upped mine to 1200 - the heap / memory problem went away. (the default is 512)

You may want to add more ram to the virtual server config - (2GB ?) - but ask some of the other popular posters on here that also virtualize.
julian46
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 5:24 am

Postby kyle » Fri Mar 27, 2009 5:52 am

We upped the amount of Ram that the Virtual Server can use to 3Gb and we also increased the java heap size to 1200...
So far it seems to be working fine...
kyle
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 6:12 am

Postby Support3 » Tue Mar 31, 2009 9:39 pm

Thanks for the update, please let us know again should the problem re-occur.

Thanks.
User avatar
Support3
 
Posts: 6075
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 11:08 am


Return to Archived - Technical Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Looking for Rbackup Alternative | Vembu Alternative | Novastor Alternative | Asigra Alternative | BackupAgent Alternative? Try our product.


A wholly owned subsidiary of Ahsay Backup Software Development Company Limited  [HKEx Stock Code: 8290]