Knowledge Base & Discussion Forum

How to install new SSL Certificate on OBS installed on QNAP

Discuss any other technical questions here

Moderator: Support Team

How to install new SSL Certificate on OBS installed on QNAP

Postby mth » Wed Jun 19, 2013 5:30 pm

Hi all,

I have also faced the dummy certificate expiration issue.
I have read the threads about how to replace the keystore file in the \conf sub directory.

As I understand it, I shall not update the keystore file on the OBM (which runs on our Windows Servers), but update it on the OBS Server. As I understand it, alot is running OBS on Windows Server and Linux.

However I'm running our OBS on a QNAP NAS located offsite.

This has been running for two years without any trouble, so the solution is good for us.

Please advice on how to renew / replace / update the SSL (HTTPS) certificate on OBS installed on a QNAP (T-809).

I am currently unavailable to backup our servers to offsite location due to this issue.

Thank you.
mth
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 3:45 pm

RE: How to install new SSL Certificate on OBS installed on QNAP

Postby Frankvk » Tue Jun 25, 2013 9:36 pm

Hi mth,

We had the same issue (still running version 5.5.7.0 without problems until recently).

Here's how we fixed it:

1) Download the new keystorefile, unpack it and save it somewhere as "keystore.new"
2) Use the QNAP webfile manager to locate keystore file; with me is was "/Web/obsr/system/obsr/conf"
3) Upload "keystore.new" to this location.
4) Set the permissions to 700 (rwx------)
5) Rename "keystore" to "keystore.old"
6) Rename "keystore.new" to "keystore"

And finally, reboot the QNAP.

Good Luck!

Regards, Frank
Frankvk
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 10:12 pm

Postby mth » Thu Jun 27, 2013 6:03 pm

Hi Frankvk,

thank you very for you thorough guide.

When I enable Web File Manager in our QNAP and i click on the icon in the top, it shows a new tab with the Web File Manager. However, its sort of faded, and I cant click on any buttons/links.
If I close that tab, and connect directly to the Web File Manager it prompts me for a username and password. I enter admin and PW and it says I dont have access.

I am running firmware 3.2.3 on the QNAP. It seems to be a firmware issue.
I wont update the firmware since Ahsay says no, when I am stuck on the old version of Ahsay. 5.5.8.0 I believe.

Which firmware version are you running on the QNAP? And are your Web File Manager working "out of the box"?

Does it require Java?
I have tried with IE 9, 10 and all security disabled.
Also latest Chrome.

Thank you for your answer.
mth
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 3:45 pm

Postby Frankvk » Tue Jul 02, 2013 8:20 pm

Hi mth,

That seems to be a QNAP security issue rather than Ahsay.
We're running the latest (or mayby latest -1) firmware on QNAP, 3.8.2 Build 20130301

We have used IE, Chrome and Firefox, all of them work fine.

Good luck.
Frankvk
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 10:12 pm

Re: How to install new SSL Certificate on OBS installed on QNAP

Postby MortenW » Fri Feb 14, 2014 4:36 am

mth wrote:Hi all,

......Please advice on how to renew / replace / update the SSL (HTTPS) certificate on OBS installed on a QNAP (T-809).
.....



Hi Mth

I know this is not the right place to ask, but ill try anyway.
How did you install OBS on your QNAP ? Is there a guide for it somewhere ?

Please help

Best regards
Morten
MortenW
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2014 4:31 am

Re: How to install new SSL Certificate on OBS installed on QNAP

Postby Aliraza142 » Mon Nov 17, 2014 8:19 pm

Just get the linux OBSR installer, dump it on a shared folder on the NAS

modify the server.xml and change the ports to some not already in use by the qnap

Navigate to it in the terminal, go into the /bin folder and issue ./install.sh

See what errors present.

I don't think you will be as risk of damaging the qnap.. I believe the only thing you may need to do is modify the install.sh script on what location to put the init scripts etc
ali
Aliraza142
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 8:07 pm

Re: How to install new SSL Certificate on OBS installed on QNAP

Postby PG » Tue Nov 18, 2014 5:44 am

Ive got it to work fine using the above method on Intel based qnap boxes, don't even bother with the Marvel (arm) ones, you won't find java binaries for arm that will run OBS
PG
 
Posts: 1023
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 5:57 am

Re: How to install new SSL Certificate on OBS installed on QNAP

Postby vinod » Sat Jan 17, 2015 3:11 pm

Thanks to share this helpful information....I really appreciate to you.
vinod
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 7:04 pm

Re: How to install new SSL Certificate on OBS installed on QNAP

Postby hometurphindia » Tue Aug 16, 2016 2:55 pm

Thanks for such a useful information.
hometurphindia
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 2:49 pm
Location: Gurgaon


Return to Others

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

Looking for Rbackup Alternative | Vembu Alternative | Novastor Alternative | Asigra Alternative | BackupAgent Alternative? Try our product.


A wholly owned subsidiary of Ahsay Backup Software Development Company Limited  [HKEx Stock Code: 8290]